“Jenell Paris has produced a provocative and astute diagnosis of our situation in the US: living in ‘an oversexualized culture with an undersexualized spirituality.'”

Jamie Gates, M.Div., Ph.D., cultural anthropologist and director of the Center for Justice and Reconciliation at Point Loma Nazarene University

I am NOT the person to dedicate my spiritual sense of self to any organized religion, but I definitely consider spirituality a part of the human experience. There is something to our lives that cannot be grasped in the physical I think. I love how this quote extends human sexuality into that realm so simply. In essence, the human spirit is SEXY! But what does that mean?

2 thoughts on “Sexuality & Spirituality

  1. Your blog is one of my favorites because I always get a little food for thought. The human spirit is SEXY! I think this means that as humans we long for depth and authentic experience. When you get to know someone on a spiritual level, depth and authenticity are present. This is the fuel for the flame of intense sexual attraction.

    1. I think it means human beings can be sexual without being physical. They do overlap, but so does everything about the human sense of self, which i conceive of as a rhizome. Which is going to be the topic of today’s post in fact.

Leave a Reply

