Love is Not Enough

Dear World,
My former self thought that love could sustain any relationship on it’s own. Given the path my family life has taken, I can now see how foolish a notion that can be. At times, love can be its own undoing.

Please do not misinterpret me. Love is vital, and a magnificent component of the human experience. Yet just as emotions, love is an irrational thing. As such, it can only accentuate what is already present in a person. I do not believe love, in and of itself, could ever replace something spiteful with something beautiful.

My father is a spiteful person. The core of his humanity is full of malice. Yet I loved him all the same. What other choice does a child have? I wanted to believe that love could sustain a relationship in and of itself so I could continue to believe in my father.

I gradually learned the truth once my mother died. Without her in the picture, my father’s sanity simply disintegrated. I realized this had been his future all along. I had to face the fact I could not save him by loving him. My mother had clearly proven that fact to me.

Oddly enough, I cannot stop myself from having some love for him (and her) somewhere inside my soul…even after everything that has happened. I suppose loving is just in my nature. I am a human being after all.

Yet neither of them are in my life physically any longer. It will be a constant reminder to me that love is not enough. Knowing what is not enough gives me faith I will be able to discover what is. My will shall not be undone. The failures of my parents will not prevent me from having faith in myself, as it once did.

Love  is a vital part of my life and my sexuality. I dearly hope it is a vital portion of yours as well.
A Frolicker of Sexual Fluidity
P.S. Apparently I suck at keeping a schedule. I was out of town last week.

Leave a Reply

